Potty Training – Day 4

While the day is not over, I’d better get this down now before the craziness of tomorrow takes over the night.

Perhaps our three day potty training boot camp was not a bust after all.  I could possibly become the new endorser for Lora Jensen’s method.  While yesterday ended on a VERY low note (at 6pm both Jeff and I were wondering if bedtime could come any faster), today has shown vast improvements.

Oakley woke up dry this morning after sleeping all night.  I had made sure to start restricting his liquids at about 5:30pm last night so he’d not have much stored up for over night.  He woke me up this morning calling out “Yucky!  Yucky!” which I thought couldn’t mean anything good, but when I went to get him, he was still dry as a button.  We went straight to the bathroom, but he didn’t want to sit down so I didn’t make him.  After about 20 minutes his eyes got really wide, he stamped his feet a couple times and said “POTTY!” (which sounds a lot like ‘baby’, ‘puppy’, ‘monkey’…. so that’s a bit hard to decipher.  Good thing there was a little dance that accompanied the declaration.)  We rushed in and, hallelujah, a total success.  By noon time he still had the same undies on from the night before and three victories in the potty.  WHAT?!?!  It’s a miracle!

We did have one undie change before I had to leave for an appointment at 12:45, but that was due to not making it for a poo.  I had high hopes for an all day victory today, but Oaks had a couple accidents while I was gone.  This is partially due to the fact that I’ve made vast improvements in knowing when Oakley is telling me he has to go potty and our poor sitter hadn’t been to the boot camp all weekend.  He did tell her once that he had to go though, which I thought was awesome.

While we aren’t at the point yet of being ready to make any big outings, things have really come along today.  I honestly am a little shocked.

In my four years of parenting, potty training continues to be one of the highlights for me.  The first time Ava actually had a success on the potty, I don’t think I could ever feel more proud of her than I did that day.  Even if she gets accepted into Harvard, I don’t think I could feel more pride than I did seeing the look on her face when she realized what she had just done.  There is something incredibly gratifying about teaching your child this skill, especially when it finally clicks.  Plus, there is nothing cuter than a little bum in little tiny undies.  Now, this past weekend was a bit of hell.  Jeff gave it a rating of 2 on a scale of 1-10.  But today, I’d say an 8.

Too bad Jeff had to miss all the glory.  He was pretty excited to get out of the potty boot camp though… so excited he left at like 5:30 this morning.  So since I had to remain in the trenches, I say too bad.  He also missed out on all the Oakley snuggles.  Oaks has become a little more like a monkey on the hip… much more attached than normal.  But also so much more grown up than normal too.  It seems like with learning the potty skill, his verbal skills advanced too.  Sheesh, they just grow up so fast!  Pretty much not sad to leave the diapering behind… for 6 months anyway.  Then it will start all over again.

So today there is still hope!  Onward, potty warriors, onward!

Leave a Reply

